Skip to Content
A   A   A

Ontario Film Authority

About the Ontario Film Authority

Who We Are : Board of Directors

The OFA is governed by a four-member interim board of directors, comprised of government, industry, and public representatives.

Tom Wright, Chair

Tom Wright was elected Chair of the Interim Board of Directors of the Ontario Film Authority in September 2013. He is also Chair of the Interim Board of Directors of the Bereavement Authority of Ontario, elected in 2014.

In November 1997 Tom became Registrar under the Real Estate and Business Brokers Act and in January 2002 became CEO at the Real Estate Council of Ontario until his retirement in September 2014. RECO was one of the first delegated administrative authorities established by what is now the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services.

From 1991 to 1997 Tom was Information and Privacy Commissioner for the Province of Ontario heading the office responsible for ensuring that ministries and government agencies of the provincial government and municipal organizations comply with Ontario’s freedom of information and privacy laws.

A graduate of Queen’s Law School, Tom was called to the Ontario Bar in 1975 and practised law for 10 years prior to joining the Ontario Public Service in 1985 where he held various legal positions.

Renu Kulendran, Director

Renu Kulendran is the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Consumer Services Operations Division in the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services. Renu is responsible for delivering the ministry’s consumer complaint, regulatory compliance and enforcement programs; implementing modernized data and risk-based awareness, prevention and enhanced compliance and enforcement strategies for the ministry; transforming ministry program delivery through expansion of the delegated administrative authority model and providing expert advice on the model across government; and, developing regulatory partnerships with other ministries, governments and enforcement entities to achieve consumer protection objectives.

Renu has extensive experience in social and economic resource policy development; issues management; stakeholder relations; and, experience managing complex enforcement and compliance issues in an operational context.

Renu has held senior leadership positions at the Ministry of Labour, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services, the Ministry of Education, and Cabinet Office. She has worked in the Ontario Public Service for over 25 years.

Wendy Noss, Director

Wendy Noss is the Executive Director of the Toronto-based Motion Picture Association – Canada - the Canadian arm of the MPAA – serving as the voice and advocate of the major international producers and distributors of movies, home entertainment and television programming in Canada. The motion picture studios served by the MPAA are Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, Paramount Pictures Corporation, Sony Pictures Entertainment Inc., Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation, Universal City Studios LLC., and Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc.

Wendy is responsible for overseeing the MPAA member companies’ legislative, regulatory, legal, and content protection strategies across Canada and for promoting their interests in the country. On behalf of these studios and their domestic affiliates, Wendy leads the organization in support of initiatives which further the health of the film and television industry and foster an environment of respect for creativity in Canada. Wendy joined the MPA-Canada in 2006 and previously served as General Counsel.

Wendy has more than twenty years of experience in legal and government affairs representing creative industries and intellectual property owners in Canada. Prior to joining the Motion Picture Association - Canada, she was a practicing lawyer focusing on intellectual property law and policy, and in protecting intellectual property rights in the online environment. She previously served as Counsel and Director of Legal and Government Affairs for the national copyright collective representing authors and publishers.

Wendy attended the University of Western Ontario where she received her Bachelor of Arts (English) in 1987. She was awarded her law degree from Osgoode Hall Law School in 1990 and was admitted as a Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada in 1992.

Wendy currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian American Business Council, the Motion Picture Classification Corporation of Canada, and the Ontario Film Authority.

Janet Robinson, Director

Janet Robinson led a successful 30 year career in the health care field; active in team management, mentorship and enhancing stakeholder relations within and outside of health centres.

In 1999, Janet was appointed to the Ontario Film Review Board as a member of the classification team. In 2003, she was first appointed Vice-Chair and in 2004, was appointed Chair where she held this position until 2014. During her tenure as OFRB Chair, Janet led outreach programming for Ontario’s general public with public film evenings and speaking with interested groups. She also initiated the “OFRB Student Film Competition”, a 60 second public service announcement explaining OFRB’s film classifications. Two successful contests were held in 2006 and in 2008 with the PSAs showing on 590 screens across Ontario.

Janet now serves as an Interim Director of the Board for the Ontario Film Authority where she continues to consult on the implementation of the Delegated Administrative Authority model in respect to the Film Classification Act, 2005.