Skip to Content
A   A   A

Ontario Film Authority

Film Classifications

Classification Categories and Content Advisories

Ontario Regulation 452/05 under the Film Classification Act, 2005 gives the Ontario Film Review Board (OFRB) the authority to review and classify films into one of five classification categories: G, PG, 14A, 18A or R.

G Rating Suitable for viewers of all ages.
PG Rating Parental Guidance is advised. Theme or content may not be suitable for all children.
14A Rating Suitable for viewing by persons 14 years of age and older. Persons under 14 must be accompanied by an adult. May contain violence, coarse language, and/or sexually suggestive themes.
18A Rating Suitable for persons 18 years of age and older. Persons under 18 may attend but must be accompanied by an adult. May contain: explicit violence, frequent coarse language, sexual activity and/or horror.
R Rating Admission restricted to persons 18 years of age and older. Content not suitable for minors. May contain: frequent use of sexual activity, brutal/graphic violence, intense horror and/or other disturbing content.

Elements that contribute to the film classification include language, violence, nudity, sexual activity, gory scenes and psychological impact. Click here to view the Guide to the Elements.


Content Advisories

Content Advisories are intended to provide parents and moviegoers with additional information that may help them make informed viewing choices. Below are definitions of the Content Advisories.

Not Recommended for Young Children: The film may be inappropriate for young children. Examples might be the death of a family pet, a complicated family breakdown, or images considered frightening or disturbing for the very young. “Young Children” would be persons 7 years of age and under.

Not Recommended for Children: The film may include scenes that reflect a more mature situation, such as drug use/abuse. “Children” would be persons 13 years of age and under.

Some Scary Scenes: Scenes that could make a child fearful. Scenes of fairy tale images, e.g., ogres, witches, or robots will be brief and infrequent.

Cartoon/Animated Action: Mild violence in a more comedic/fairy tale genre.

Frightening Scenes: The film contains images that might shock or frighten a person. These scenes might be found in a thriller, suspense, or war genre.

Mature Theme: Contains images or storylines that may be disturbing or incomprehensible to minors. The film may contain portrayals of domestic violence, racism, religious matters, death, or controversial social issues.

Language May Offend: Contains language that may be offensive to some groups; also used for PG films that contain expletives.

Language Not Evaluated: Used on non-English language films that are not subtitled.

Coarse Language: Contains foul language or offensive speech. Language may include profanity, verbal abuse, slurs, and sexual references.

Crude Content: Material or humour that is unrefined or coarse and that may be seen as harsh, rude, or offensive.

Nudity: Contains images of full frontal, partial, or rear nudity. Context will be determined by the situation, clarity, detail, repetition, and whether the nudity is in a non-sexual or sexual situation.

Sexual Content: Film may contain images and/or verbal references of sexual themes, sexual innuendo, fondling, implied sexual activity and simulated sexual activity.

Violence: May contain restrained portrayals of non-graphic violence, portrayals of violence with some bloodletting and/or tissue damage, and frequent more prolonged portrayals of violence resulting in bloodletting and tissue damage. The degree, frequency and intensity of the acts of violence will be factors in the classification decision.

Graphic Violence: Violent acts shown in full clear, unequivocal and realistic detail, with blood and tissue damage.

Disturbing Content: Indicates the expected natural reaction by an audience to any elements of a film, including the tone of a film, pertaining to distress or suffering. This includes the implication or threat of physical and/or psychological violence, even when violence is not depicted.

Substance Abuse: Descriptive scenes depicting the use of illegal substances, and the abuse of prescription drugs or alcohol, and other intoxicating substances.

Gory Scenes: Graphic images of bloodletting and/or tissue damage. Includes horror or war representations. Degree, frequency, and intensity will also be a major factor in the classification decision.

Explicit Sexual Content: Sexual acts, shown in full, clear, unequivocal and realistic detail.

Brutal Violence: Visually explicit portrayals of violence, which may be characterized by extreme brutality, extreme bloodletting and/or extreme tissue damage. May include images of torture, horror, or war.

Sexual Violence: The degradation of an individual in a sexual manner. May contain images of non-consensual acts with the intent to inflict harm, for example, simulated rape, and/or the use of threats to force compliance in sexual activity.

Subtitled: Translation or transcription of the dialogue of a movie printed at the bottom of the screen.

Tobacco Use: Actual use or prominent appearance of any tobacco products.

Click here to view the Glossary for definitions of relevant terms.